APPLY FOR A LICENSE
Concealed carry, or carrying a concealed weapon, is the practice of carrying a weapon, either in proximity to or on one’s person or in public places in a manner that hides or conceals the weapon’s presence from surrounding observers. In the United States, the opposite of concealed carry is called open carry.
Do I need a concealed carry license in Texas?
As of 2021, Texas law no longer requires people to have a license to carry (LTC) in order to carry a handgun in most public places. See our Carry of Firearms page for more info on this new law VIEW
Can you conceal carry in Texas without a permit at 18?
Sections 46.02 and 46.04 of the Texas Penal Code describe unlawful carry and possession of a firearm. Generally, to carry a handgun in public in Texas without an LTC, a person must: Be at least 21 years old (Note: a recent court decision may affect the age restriction)Mar 24, 2023
How much is a gun license in Texas?
$40 Handgun license fees
An original LTC costs $40. Renewals cost $40. Fees are non-refundable and non-transferrable. Texas law does provide some discounts if you meet certain special conditions.
What bullets are illegal in Texas?
On a state level, the only specific type of ammunition that’s illegal is armor-piercing ammunition for handguns. This is defined as a type of handgun ammunition designed to penetrate any metal or body armor.
Can I have a weapon in my car in Texas?
Texas has no laws regarding the carrying of long guns (rifles or shotguns) in motor vehicles.Sep 15, 2021
What You Need